Homework for Tuesday, March 28th

Research is exhausting. We go from knowing our main point, to juggling two new points, to changing our purpose. All of that is normal, expected, and a traditional part of the process. When we research, we may have an idea, but the point of research is to expand on that idea. We want to know more, and with knowledge comes change. You learn more as you grow, and what you learn changes you. The same goes for your research.

With the AB completed, the project sheet distributed, and an outline in your possession, you are fully armed to write this paper. Step one is our first deadline.

Homework:

Bring: a full 4-6 page draft of your essay. If you don’t have a full copy, I won’t be dismissing you, but  this will be 10 points of process work, so without the full draft, I can’t give you full credit.

  • If you’re doing hard copy, have one copy of your draft for every member of your group
  • If you’re doing it digitally, email your essay to your WS partners, and make sure the bring their laptops to look at it, and give you comments.
  • Digital workshop is acceptable since I won’t collect these drafts

Write: We’re at different points in our work, so it’s important your group knows where you’re at. The first page of your draft should contain the following information (note, this page does NOT count as part of the 4-6 page draft)

  • EVERYONE:Your stated purpose and audience
  • ANYONE WHO DOES NOT HAVE A DRAFT BEGINNING WITH THEIR ESSAY’S INTRODUCTION: You need to have a summary of what will come prior to the draft you brought in (this is if you are starting in the middle of your paper)
  • For example) “The draft I am handing you is preceded by my introduction and my thesis is ____________________. Following the introduction is the problem’s origin, and the section you are reading is the problem’s significance to my audience. We begin where I start talking about how the problem affects _____ and why _____ should care about that effect.”

Review: What you want your classmates to focus on? I made a cheat-sheet of rhetorical terms for you to review as you’re writing. Decide where your weak points are, and ask the class to look closely at that.

  • For example) When you’re reading my draft, I am concerned about my use of synthesis between Smith and Jones on page 3. Can you explain if it’s clear that I am saying how Smith and Jones disagree? How can I make it better?
  • When you read my draft, I am trying to use more emotional appeal than anything, but with my audience, I am not sure if it’s too much. Can you tell me if I am being too passionate or opinionated when I describe the problem on page 2? How can I fix it?

It was great to see your theses in class today. I am so proud of how far each of you came with your research, and while we have a long road ahead, many of you are starting off strong.

If you have questions over the weekend, feel free to email me.

Until then, I leave you with a mind-blowing fact:

Image result for when you clean out a vacuum cleaner you become a vacuum cleaner

catch more Jaden Smith-isms on his Twitter

Leave a Reply

